Posted by Abrahem Helal on Nov 26, 2018
Nominations are now open for the Club and Foundation's future leaders! 

Frequently Asked Questions

When can I nominate someone (or myself)?

November 14, 2018 to November 28, 2018
In addition to suggesting candidates to the nominating committee, members can submit candidates’ names by petition.  They do that by gathering at least 20 members’ signatures, plus the signature of their nominee, and submit them to the club Secretary at least 7 days before the December 19, 2018 annual meeting.

Who do I contact to nominate someone or if I have a question?

DC Rotary Club members are encouraged to email their nominations for the following positions to Nominations Committee Chair and Past President Abe Helal at

What Positions Are Open for Nominations?

Club Nominations
  • President Elect Nominee
  • 3 vacancies– three-year term board members
  • 3 vacancies – one-year term replacement board members
Foundation Nominations
  • 2 – three-year term board members

What is the Nominations & Election Schedule this year?

November 14, 2018           
  • Nominations process and schedule provided to club members
  • Club members invited to provide nominations to nominations committee via secret ballot
November 28, 2018
  • Deadline to submit nominations by club members 
November 28, 2018 - December 05, 2018
  • Nominations Committee vets candidates and makes final selections
December 05, 2018 - December 12, 2018
  • Nominees to provide Nominations Committee their bio and a photo for club member review during voting cycle
December 12 - December 19, 2018
  • Election goes live online December 12. Club members will be emailed their voting key to vote online.
  • Online voting will close at 12 noon on December 19.
  • In-person paper voting will be available at the Club meeting on December 19 until 12:30 p.m. (the start of the meeting).
  • Nominations Committee tallies and certifies the voting results. 
  • Winners will be announced at the end of the December 19, 2018 weekly club meeting.

Nominations Committee Members

1)       Abrahem Helal (chair – committee member)
2)       Doris Margolis (committee member)
3)       Howard Davis (committee member)
4)       Pat Kavanaugh (committee member)
5)       Ross Grantham (committee member)